top of page
Cherry Cake

26/04/20

If you love blog reviews about family films that are about families sticking together, loving each other through thick and thin and all ends happily ever after...this isn't the blog for you, okay?

I'm only joking but seriously this film is about a family not getting along with each other and all the siblings ever wanted was to have a better family and a better life. I mean seriously I know we're all going through a weird time right now but look on the positive side of what this lock down is doing, it's bringing people that we're currently living with together. Take me and my mum and dad for example we have never ever been so close than ever before. I mean sure my parents they get on my nerves from time to time just because me and my dad can't understand each other (probably because he's been trying to get the fact sunk that he has a daughter with autism since I was little) and me and my mum can't see eye-to-eye.


But anyways back the review. When I saw this film appear on Netflix I thought "This looks like a really good film. Me, mum and dad might enjoy it" and I wasn't wrong about that.


I really like the opening narration words "If you love stories about families that stick together and love each other through thick and thin and it all ends happily ever after...this isn't the film for you, okay?" it reminded me of the opening of each episode of the Netflix original series and the film A Series Of Unfortunate Events.

Once we're shown the Willoughbys's house it looked like the house from The Addams Family from the outside as well as the inside. But like the narrator said that this particular family story was weird as they were hidden away from the modern world in their old-fashioned home. Don't get me wrong I love old fashioned home, I even dream of living in one myself. Now when the narrator said "old-fashioned, " he meant that the Willoubys go way, way back because the family mainly base their lives on tradition, invention, creativity and courage. The men members of the family do have magnificent facial hair from generation after generation.


OK lets jump ahead a few months when Mr & Mrs Willougby had their eldest son Tim Willougby and since then they had a daughter named Jane Willoughby, who loves to sing and twin sons both named Barnaby Willoughby both nicknamed Barnaby A and Barnaby B, they're creepy. I really do think it's weird naming twin boys the same name but Mr and Mrs Willoughby have been neglecting, never ever share their food and frequently punishing their kids. They don't have good parenting skill at all.


Anyways after rescuing a orphaned baby the Willoughby siblings hatched a plan to make themselves orphans too by sending their parents on a dangerous holiday by making a fake travel agency leaflet. Even though Mr & Mrs Willoughby are so selfish they fell for it and off they went but not without hiring a nanny who is practically perfect and everything was perfect for a little while until Tim discovered after hearing a message from his father to the nanny that Mr & Mrs Willoughby are selling their house after running out of money. Don't they know their are ATM's about? Tim therefore decided to call orphan services which is really bad.


After realizing that their nanny really did want to take care of them by adopting them, Tim realized what he did was wrong and decided to go and save their parents. But much to my expectations they're still not great parents at all. But however the Willoughby children did get a new family and lived happily ever after...which is more than I expected for Mr & Mrs Willoughby.


This film has laughs, great animation, great story, colorful. And I thought it wasn't that really bad.

I really enjoyed watching this film.


Cast

Will Forte as Tim Willoughby, the rational eldest child of the Willoughbys.

Maya Rudolph as as Linda AKA Nanny, an eccentric babysitter who must look after the kids.

Alessia Cara as Jane Willoughby, the fun-loving middle-child of the Willoughbys with a passion for singing.

Terry Crews as Commander Melanoff, the joyous owner of a candy factory.

Martin Short as Mr. Willoughby, the neglectful Willoughby patriarch.

Jane Krakowski as Mrs. Willoughby, the neglectful Willoughby matriarch.

Seán Cullen asBarnaby A and Barnaby B Willoughby, the "creepy" twin boys and youngest children of the Willoughbys.

Ricky Gervais as The Cat, a talking blue tabby cat and the narrator of this film.



Recent Posts

See All

Kuroko’s Basketball S3 Ep. 6

Akashi has one serious pair of Hawkeye eyes and a single mistake could be fatal to either team due to what time they had left. Shintaro took a midair shot after catching the ball in midair. Takao’s ac

Kuroko's Basketball S3 Ep. 5

Sorry for the lateness again. It's because of me being on my time of the month, going to Casa Peri Peri and the stress of buying Christmas presents for friends. Thank goodness there's only two people

Drop Me A Line And Let Me Know

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Thank you for submitting your message!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page