top of page
Cherry Cake

New Disney+ Series Review: Big Shot Ep. 1

Well I said I would review another Disney+/basketball series. As of 15/04/21 I'm back volunteering every Thursday and Friday at the British Heart Foundation and since Big Shot episodes will be released every Friday for 7 weeks as of this week so I won't be reviewing each episode of Fridays but I'll write a review on either Saturdays or Sundays. Anyways that's me bragging on about how I'm going to do this done so let's get right on it.


This series stars John Stamos (who famously played Jesse Katsopolis in Full House & Fuller House) AS Marvyn Korn, a men's college baskeyball coach who gets fired from his job after losing his temper during a game. But he was offered a job to coach a all-girls basketball team at a all-girls private high school called Westbrook. Team name: Sirens. Marvyn thinks that coaching a high school team is low especially a girls team. But let's just see how his perception and way of thinking changes. Maybe the girls basketball team will help become a better coach. So far he's suspended a team member called Louise until further notice. so far the Sirens think he's a bully and the obvious reason why they think that is that his coaching skills is too hard on them. Another reason is because he got divorced. However his daughter Emily is his Jiminy Cricket. One team member thinks he's just a good person but doesn't know it. Some of the girls think they're just playing basketball just to make their parents proud of them and that's just Louise far starters. OMG the training sessions are just like the training sessions in Kuroko's Basketball.

It's game time: Sirens VS Eagels and it's time for a prep talk with the team. John Wooden said:

"Whatever you do in life, surround yourself with smart people."

But he also said:

"Success is a peace of mind. Knowing that you made the effort to be your best."

But the first game of the series didn't end well as the Sirens lost by 53-56. During half-time Marvyn Korn gave the team a heartfelt speech:

"My father called me an embarrassment.

An embarrassment.

Those words drove me more than any other words, to not be that.

But the irony of those words, is that they made me lose myself.

I'd throw tantrums, chairs.

But at the end of the game, after every game, I could look in the mirror and I could say to myself that I did everything I could to try to win, that I tried my best.

And that's all I'm asking of you. Try your best. Life is bigger than basketball.

I may not be, but life...And the thing about life...And this is what they don't tell you in high school, is that it's cruel.

And that is difficult.

And you don't have a fighting chance...unless you fight."


They may have lost the game but they fought and their lost was better than any win.

And they're just getting started.





Recent Posts

See All

Kuroko’s Basketball S3 Ep. 6

Akashi has one serious pair of Hawkeye eyes and a single mistake could be fatal to either team due to what time they had left. Shintaro took a midair shot after catching the ball in midair. Takao’s ac

Kuroko's Basketball S3 Ep. 5

Sorry for the lateness again. It's because of me being on my time of the month, going to Casa Peri Peri and the stress of buying Christmas presents for friends. Thank goodness there's only two people

Kuroko's Basketball S3 Ep 4

Sorry for the lateness of this blog. I forgot to write it on Tuesday and I forgot to do it on Wednesday. So I did it on Thursday 10/11/22 The winter cup semis have finally arrived and Kagami woke up n

Drop Me A Line And Let Me Know

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Thank you for submitting your message!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page