top of page
Cherry Cake

Mary Berry's Heavenly Chocolate Cake 16/05/20

Well this is the first for me that week as I couldn't think of what to bake. After I took part in a virtual Luv2MeetU event called All Things Food I went into the back room just to let my know that the virtual event is over and to give her a hug she suggested that we bake Mary Berry's Heavenly Chocolate cake. Now when I say "we" I mean my mum is going to be present just in case I need any assistance and me doing all the work which I won't complain about that because I do like baking all by myself and not having anything or anyone disrupting me like my dad standing too close to me and looking over my shoulder just to see what I'm doing. But her way of being present is every now and again abandoning me and when I need her I have to call for her. I may be autistic but I don't like people standing too close to me, it makes me feel uncomfortable.


This is my favorite Mary Berry cake because I love chocolate as much as everyone does and when I looked through Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook Family Favorites with Perfect Results Every time and I saw this heavenly chocolate cake and asked my mum to bake it for me for my birthday and she has been baking me the same cake every year on my birthday since 2012. And today I had a go myself

Here's the recipe:


Mary Berry’s


Heavenly Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

125g butter

200g Dark Chocolate

2 tbsp. water

3 eggs

125g caster sugar

90g Self-Raising flour

60g Ground Almonds


Equipment:

Deep cake tin & liner

Large metal spoon

Spoon

Spatula

Weighing scales

Measuring spoon

Whisk

Small glass bowl

Mixing bowl

Large glass bowl

Egg separator & mug

Method:

Wash your hands

Get out ingredients & equipment


Step 1. Put the oven on at 180 degrees.

Step 2. Measure the butter into a small bowl.

Step 3. Measure and break the chocolate into the small bowl with the butter.

Step 4. Measure in 2 tbsp. of water.

Step 5. Melt the chocolate in a microwave for 30 seconds

Step 6. Repeat step 5 until the chocolate is almost melted and then stir until fully melted. Leave to cool.

Step 7. Separate the eggs 1 at a time.

Step 8. Put the whites in the glass bowl and the yolks in the mixing bowl.

Step 9. Whisk the egg whites with a whisk for 5 minuets until stiff.

Step 10. Put bowl to one side.

Step 11. Measure the sugar and put the sugar into a bowl with the egg yolks.

Step 12. Whisk the sugar and egg yolks for 2 minuets.

Step 13. Stir in the melted chocolate with the metal spoon.

Step 14. Measure the self-raising flour and ground almonds. Fold in the flour.

Step 15. Fold in the egg whites gently but thoroughly with a metal spoon or spatula.

Step 16. Pour the mixture into the cake tin using the spatula.

Step 17. Bake in the oven for 50mins until risen and firm to the touch.

Step 18. Test the cake with the cake tester.

Step 19. Once baked Cool on a cooling tray.

Step 20. Wash the equipment you’ve used.


We've only decorated half of the cake because mum's helping dad watch his blood sugar. But doesn't the cake look delicious? I should know that because:

1. I had this cake for 8 years

2. I baked it myself

Home baked goods taste better than supermarket bought and even though you keep saying to anyone "I don't have the time to bake" the fact is everyone has time to bake because people appreciate homemade baked goods more than shop bought, unless it's from a bakery because at least it's made by hand.



Drop Me A Line And Let Me Know

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Thank you for submitting your message!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page