top of page
Cherry Cake

Painting for my mum and dad's Filey Bait Shed Cottage bedroom

Before I get started I just want to let you guys know that from November 2012-May 2022 the bait shed cottage will be closed for the duration as we're planning on doing the place up. It really need a face lift. And a change of paint as well. Can't have the same colors for every room all the time.


Anyways a while ago...actually a few years ago my mum and dad have asked me to do a painting. When they asked me I started getting idea from just going into their bedroom and they just came flooding in. I mean one end of their room has a light purple with silver. You know one of those luxury wallpapers. When they asked me again I already knew what I was going to paint as I didn't want to tell my mum and dad as I always believed that when you paint you're NOT supposed to follow the rules in the rule book. Did anyone tell Vincent Van Gogh how to paint his sunflowers and landscapes the way they're supposed to look that's right in front of him? No, he just painted the way he did. And many decades later that rule book was torn apart. And everyone is painting the way how they want to paint. As the characters Gary & Mrs. Briar from Are You Afraid Of The Dark episode "The Tale Of The Unfinished Painting" always say:

Gary:

"I mean when inspiration hits you, you gotta go with it"


Mrs Briar:

"Inspiration comes from the artist. Not from tools"


A couple more ideas came to mind and they were squares, dabs and speckles. For making the squares I used masking tape. I had a little help from my dad with the masking tape as I don't trust myself with keeping the tape straight. For the dabs of silver paint I remember learning about an African-American artist called Alma Thomas. She used to paint exactly what was right in front of her. But then one day she thought what if she paints a picture entirely of her own by just making dab. Dabs of paint that spread across the canvas. So I used silver paint to make dabs as well as speckles by using an old toothbrush as purple and silver go really well together.





Drop Me A Line And Let Me Know

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Thank you for submitting your message!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page