top of page
Cherry Cake

14/09/19

Another world...another time...finally we got a prequel to Jim Henson's 1982 classic movie The Dark Crystal.


As soon as the opening sequence started I thought that this series would be interesting and I thought that the opening provided informative facts about each Gelfling clan, how the Skeksis came about and what did the Skeksis did to harness the power of the Crystal of Truth in order to cheat death. When I heard that Harry Potter's Jason Isaacs was to provide the voice of skekSo, Skeksis Emperor I thought that the part was very typical of him to play because he played Lucius Malfoy in the Harry Potter films but then again he's very good at playing a villain as well as playing a good guy. But there was one actor who I was very excited to hear that he'll be providing the voice of skekTek, the scientist was Mark Hamil. He's not only a brilliant actor to play Luke Skywalker but he's also brilliant at doing voice acting too. and I should know as I've watched the odd episode of Batman The Animated series as Mark did the voice of The Joker. But I did wonder what voice Mark will do but you can't beat a bit of old school because there was a bit of Joker in the voice and I really liked the sound of skekTek's voice.


So far my first three favorite Gelfling characters were Rian, Mira and Brea. When we're first introduced to Rian and Mira I thought that these tow lovebirds would become best friends with me if I was a Gelfling because I would definitely love pranking on podlings and other Gelflings and sneaking off somewhere because being a guard and protecting the Skeksis could be a bit boring most of the time. When Rian and Mira dreamfasted I was really impressed by the special eefects as that kind of SFX has improved over the years. Rian looks like a person you want to run off and have an adventure with and Mira looks like a person you would have a cup of tea or a coffee and have a girly chat with until she was captured, drained of her essence and killed by the Skeksis. Rian's father Ordon, the captain of the guard, wanted his son to be more like him but in fact many years ago parents wanted their children to grow up just like them and to be honest it doesn't turn out good in the end. Brea reminds me of me because I love reading, drawing, painting and standing up for what I believe is right so much as Brea. I think Brea is the most kindest, headstrong Gelfling because there was one scene where during a tithing ceremony a Gelfling farmer and his wife presented their crops that withered during the blight but one of the Skeksis who was overseeing the proceedings noticed the farmer's wife's necklace and declared it a tithing offering. The farmer begged the Skeksis not to take the necklace andBrea couldn't stand at the thought of the farmer giving away his wife's necklace and suggested to her sisters that they should pay the tithe but they didn't agree with her by saying that it's the law and it's the way things are done. The farmer gave his wife's necklace away and paid the tithing. If I was the All-Maudra I would show kindness to the farmer and his wife and would let them try again. Like I said about Rian's father, Brea's mother's wanted her daughter to be more like a princess. If anyof my friends failed to try I would forgive them and encourage them to keep on trying because that's what friends are for. Brea who has so much kindness in her heart returned the necklace to the farmers wife. I haven't yet started liking another Gelfling character called Deet yet but once I've watched the next episode there will be a high chance of me adding Deet as one of my favorite characters. But so far I really enjoyed this episode and I can't wait to watch episode 2.


Drop Me A Line And Let Me Know

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Thank you for submitting your message!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page