top of page
Cherry Cake

Best adaption ever!!!!

Not too long ago I have seen advertisements for this particular play and thought to myself "There is no chance of me seeing this play" because I would never suggest it as a Luv2MeetU event in case any of us members suffer from epilepsy as this show does or did (as by now it's no longer being shown at Leeds Playhouse) contain flashing lights and images as well as occasional loud sounds such as gunfire for example. My thoughts told me wrong as my sister must of seen an advertisement and thought that I would be interested in seeing as she knows me better than anyone. And of she would. we've been sisters for 30yrs of my life.


I am talking about my favorite novel written by my favorite author:



Told you my sister knows me too well. She knows that I can't resist seeing any adaption of my favorite book. But I must confess that I have mixed feelings about seeing this play because I do fancy seeing this play. But I also felt that I shouldn't see it because of my sensitivity to loud noise let alone wouldn't be able to enjoy it. However I thought to be safe than sorry I brought earplugs with me so that anything loud wouldn't cause me any distress which thankfully worked and I did hear everything very clearly.


This play was performed by a theater company called Imitating The Dog. The play lasted 1hr 50mins with 20min interval. My sister has seen this theater company three times already. Well she did use to work at Leeds Playhouse anyways. We went and saw this play on 9th October 2021. So by the time you're reading this it'll be in: Liverpool Playhouse: 12-16 Oct

Derby Theater:

19-23 Oct

Dukes Lancaster:

29th & 30th Oct

Watford Palace Theater:

2-6 Nov

Mercury Theater, Colchester:

9th & 10th Nov

The Lowry, Salford: 12th & 13th Nov

This play was the best theatrical adaption I've ever seen since I first saw Northern Ballet's production back in September 2014 as it was told in the style of a graphic novel. When you walk into the Courtyard Auditorium and settled into your seats I noticed that there was a desk and three screens. Not long after when the character Mina introduced herself by breaking the fourth wall two more actors came on carrying camera's as the large screen behind Mina served as not just a backdrop but also as the pages of a graphic novel and the two other screens are just simply like the blue or green screens so that the actors can film project themselves onto the big screen for the next setting of the story as well as doing a bit of motion capture for a certain characters such as Jonathan Harker as two actors other than the actress playing Mina had to play more than one character. I remember there were two scenes that required both the actor playing the detective and the actress playing a police woman standing and leaning forward for a scene when they were in a police station canteen and another scene where the detective was leaning back, swinging his arms on either side and the police woman doing the same whilst sitting on a chair and looked as if they're walking along a police station corridor. So they were actually filming and projecting themselves on the big screen giving us the idea of how they're telling the story in that style. So you don't have to have a really fancy sets, you just need a camera and a screen or two no matter how big or small the show is. This show did give Mark Gatisse a run for his money and encourage me to read different Dracula books by authors who are continuing the legacy.

Drop Me A Line And Let Me Know

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Thank you for submitting your message!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page